Poseidon

Go away from Poseidon’s white marble smash

As I turned finally to go away from Poseidon’s white marble smash, a one-armed man got here as much as me, and in English instructed me that he was the guardian of the temple.

However the place do you reside?” I requested him, trying over the huge solitude.

Smiling, he led the way in which right down to a low white-washed bungalow at slightly distance. There, in a tough however scrumptious loggia, paved and fronting the ocean, I discovered two brown ladies sitting with a child amongst some small pots^of flowers. Distant from the world, with solely the marble columns for neighbors, with no voice however the sea’s to talk to them, dwell these 4 individuals. The person lived and labored for a few years in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the place he misplaced his arm in some whirring equipment. Now he has come dwelling and entered the sea-god’s service. Pittsburgh and the .Hellenic wilderness—what a distinction! However my one-armed buddy takes it philo-sophically. He shrugs his shoulder, factors to his stump, and says, “I suppose I may n’t go on there like this, so I needed to stop, and so they put me right here.”

They put him “right here,” on Cape Sunium, and on Cape Sunium he has constructed himself a home and made for himself a loggia, white, cool, brightened with llowers, head to head with the purple sea, and the isles and the mountains of Greece. And at Sunium he intends to stay as a result of, sadly, having misplaced an arm, he’s not wished in Pittsburgh.

I gave him some cash, accepted the infant’s waving however insistent hand, and left him to his good or fortune within the beautiful wilderness.

DELPHI AND OLYMPIA

THERE are two methods of going from Athens to Delphi: by sea from the Pineus to Itea and thence by carriage; or by motor. Regardless of the tough surfaces of the roads and the terrors of mud, I selected the latter; and I used to be properly rewarded. For the drive is an excellent one, although very lengthy and fatiguing, and it enabled me to see a grand monument which many vacationers miss—the Lion of Chse- ronea, which gazes throughout an unlimited plain in a solitary place between Thebes and Delphi.

Leaving Athens early one morning, I adopted the Through Sacra, left Eleusis behind me, traversed the Thriasian plain, the heights of Mount Geraneia, and the wealthy cultivated plain of Boeotia, handed by way of the village of Kriekouki, and arrived at Thebes. There I halted for an hour. After leaving Thebes, the journey grew to become frequently increasingly fascinating as I drew close to to Parnassus: over the plain of Livadia, by way of the village and khan of Gravia, the place 100 and eighty Greeks fought heroically towards three thousand Turks in 1821, over the magnificent Cross of Amblema, throughout the de-lightful olive-covered plain of Krissa, and up the mountain to Delphi.

Leave a Reply

