Tombs

Silent streets of the tombs

Presently, rising weary of the white and silent streets of the tombs, I became a slim alley that ran by a grated wall, above which nice bushes towered, climbing towards heaven with the minaret of the Mosque of Eyub, however failing of their journey a bit of under the muezzin’s balcony. They had been cypresses, and creepers climbed affectionately with them. Simply past them I got here into the court docket of the mosque, and located myself within the midst of a crowd of pilgrims earlier than the tomb of Abu Eyub, which is roofed with gilding* and faience. Close to it’s a fountain protected by magnificent plane-trees that are sur-rounded by iron railings embellished with dervish caps.

I had been instructed greater than as soon as that the Christian canine is unwelcome in Eyub, and I used to be quickly made conscious of it. Within the facade of the tomb there’s a gap via which one can look into the inside. Taking my flip among the many pilgrims, I presently stood in entrance of this aperture, and was about to peep in discreetly when a curtain was sharply drawn throughout it by some one inside. I waited for a second, however in useless; the curtain was not drawn again, so finally I meekly went on my method, feeling slightly humiliated. A Greek good friend afterward instructed me that an imam was stationed throughout the tomb, and that little doubt he had drawn the curtain in opposition to me as a result of I used to be an unbeliever.

Duly chastened by this rebuff

Duly chastened by this rebuff, I however went on to the mosque, and was allowed to go in for a mo-ment on making a fee. The attendant was very tough and suspicious in method, and watched me as if I had been a prison; and the pilgrims who thronged the inside stared at me with open hostility. I assumed it wiser, due to this fact, to make solely acursorv examination of the good-looking marble in terior, with its domes and semi-domes, and afterward, with a way of reduction, took my method up the illside, to spend an hour among the many leaning grave-stones within the shade of the cypresses. Every stone above the grave of a person was carved with a fez, every girl’s stone with a flower; and tiny holes shaped receptacles to gather the rain-water, in order that the birds may refresh themselves above the mud of the departed.

The good subject of the lifeless was very tranquil that day. I noticed solely two carefully veiled girls transferring slowly within the distance close to the small tekkeh of the Mevlevi dervishes, and an previous Turk sitting with a baby, on the fringe of the hill earlier than a restaurant. The ladies, who had been shrouded in black, disappeared among the many gigantic cypresses, in search of maybe among the many 1000’s of graves one stone with a flower or a fez that was pricey to their hearts due to the sleeper beneath it.

Leave a Reply

